top of page
  • Writer's pictureShuaiqi Hu

Unit 4 Reflection


Powered by www.designcap.com
Powered by www.designcap.com

From Tsai's(2019) passage, I have learned that product creation is considered an efficient way for students to learn programming language. Instead of passive learning, it is an active way for students to explore and create. In addition, in Weintrop, D., & Wilensky, U. (2017) 's reading, it also found that students using a block-based modality showed significantly higher learning gains after 5 weeks of classroom instruction compared to their text-based peers. As a coding learner, I also learn coding from blocked-based modality, then I can apply the proficiency to text-based language tools.

In my classroom, it inspires me because it encourages me to continue teaching coding from block-based languages because for my students (9,10th grades), I also believe it is a clear way to introduce reasoning and logical ideas through block-based modality. Also, for the projects in previous units, I have also encouraged students to design their own projects. I think I should continue giving these open-ended projects.

The question I am having now is :

How I can check understanding when we ask students to design their own project?

If students learn block-based modality, how can we transition smoothly to text-based?

Reference

  1. Section 11. 3 - Activity 90 of Hazzan O., Lapidot T., Ragonis N. (2014) Planning Teaching. In: Guide to Teaching Computer Science. Springer, London

  2. Tsai, C. (2019). Improving students' understanding of basic programming concepts through visual programming language: The role of self-efficacy. Elsevier. doi:10.1016/j.chb.2018.11.038

  3. Weintrop, D., & Wilensky, U. (2017). Comparing block-based and text-based programming in high school computer science classrooms. ACM Transactions on Computing Education (TOCE), 18(1), 1-25. doi:10.1145/3089799

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page